No votes, however, have been taken since July 31, 1923, the date of the plebiscite in the county of Stanstead, Quebec. Part III of the Act relates to penalties and prosecutions, while Part IV relates to the prohibition of the importation and exportation of intoxicating liquors into and from the provinces. All the provinces except Quebec and British Columbia have carried plebiscites in favour of the prohibition of importation of liquors. Exportation is prohibited from the provinces of New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Manitoba, Alberta and Saskatchewan.

3.-Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (formerly the Royal Northwest Mounted Police) are distributed throughout the Dominion, with headquarters at Ottawa. The operations of the force for the year ended Sept. 30, 1926, are described in the Commissioners' Report for that year, which shows that during the year the Royal Canadian Mounted Police discharged numerous and varied functions, in several instances aiding Provincial Governments in the maintenance of law and order, assisting the Dominion Department of Health in putting down the illicit traffic in narcotics, the Secretary of State in inquiring into the suitability for citizenship of applicants for naturalization, the Department of Finance in protecting Government moneys, the Department of Customs and Excise in the repression of smuggling, the Department of Marine and Fisheries in protecting property in cases of wrecks and in enforcing fisheries regulations, the Post Office Department in tracking down mail robbers, the Department of the Interior in enforcing law and order in the national parks, the Dominion Bureau of Statistics in taking the census of outlying communities, and the Department of Indian Affairs in the enforcement of the Indian Act, while important patrol work has been done in the Arctic regions. On Sept. 30, 1926, the strength of the force was 53 officers and 910 non-commissioned officers and constables, with 314 horses and 281 dogs.

In recent years there have been considerable reductions in the strength of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, resulting in a progressive decline from 1,680 in 1921 to 963 in 1926—a total reduction of 43 p.c. The details are shown in Table 22.

22.—Strength and Distribution of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police on Sept. 36, 1926, with totals for 1920-26.

Schedule.	Headquarters Staff.	Maritime Provinces.	Quebec.	Ontario.	Manitoba.	Saskatchewan.	Alberta.	British Columbia.	Yukon.	Northwest Territories.	Baffin Land.	Ellesmere Island.	North Devon Island.	On loan to Customs Dept.	Canada.
Commissioner. Asst. Commissioners. Superintendents. Inspectors. Surgeon. Veterinary Surgeon. Staff Sergeants. Sergeants. Corporals. Constables. Special Constables.	1 1 1 2 - 7 9 11 23 11	1 1 1 2 2 3	- - 1 - 1 2 9 21 3	2 6 - 5 18 30 201	8 - 2 5 7 26 4	1 2 4 1 1 6 24 30 90 14	2 5 6 13 19 47 21	- 9 - 3 11 14 46	2 2 2 3 1 6 17 3	4 1 1 4 6 33 8	1 6	1 2	t 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 3 1	3 12 2 9	1 2 11 87 1 39 100 137 547
Total Personnel	66 72 72 72 79 78	28 30 32 33 37 33 25	87 27 27 31 41 25	276 294 295 317 288 440 384	47 52 51 64 71 162 160	173 182 192 253 274 329 400	113 116 128 152 173 266 300	93 94 109 143 175 265 257	34, 37, 40, 42, 51, 52, 48	56 49 52 29 27 28 16	7 8 7 4 1	33297	333	27 10 10	963 977 1,020 1,148 1,227 1,680 1,671